Posted on Leave a comment

A Quick Overview of Soccer in Germany

For those unfamiliar, this will serve as a quick breakdown of the layout and structure of club football (soccer) in Germany.

The top tier of German football is called the Bundesliga (18 teams). The next divisions below the Bundesliga are 2. Bundesliga (18 teams), and 3. Liga (20 teams). The Bundesliga features FC Bayern Munich, one of the world’s most popular club teams. The league currently has a television contract with FOX for viewers in the United States. Seasons typically begin in August and end in May with each team playing each other twice (once each on each other’s home pitch) for a total of 34 games for each team. At the end of each season, the bottom two or three teams are relegated down to 2. Bundesliga, while two or three other teams are promoted up from 2. Bundesliga for the following season. Continue reading A Quick Overview of Soccer in Germany